Getting in Shape – 3rd Post (P90X)

I basically just completed the 2nd week of P90X. I’ve noticed a big difference in about 90% of what I did over the first week. The biggest improvement is in stamina. On day 1, I barely made it through the entire DVD. In fact, I was ready to quit after the first half. But then my wife said she was continuing on and that was all I needed to hear. We finished that first day exhausted. That first week was a very painful week. Every part of my body hurt every day. I was walking like an old man. The 2nd week showed a small improvement in weights or reps. I got to the point where I could do up to 8 cheating pull-ups. The first week I had to use the bands. I’m hoping for a few unassisted pull-ups next week.

I’m not a fan of Yoga X in the least. I don’t have the best balance and I always want to end early. But, I keep plugging away. Plyometrics is the best cardio work-out of the week for sure.

Next week is the last week of the hard workouts of Phase 1 and then we’re on to the recovery week. Though having Yoga in the recovery week doesn’t really make me happy.

Oh, and I bought a great pair of multi-weight dumbbells to use instead of trying to get the Bowflex to do some of the more awkward exercises. I’m guessing my weight numbers are going to go down a bit. That’s ok though. Form over weights wins any day.

Leave a Reply

