Getting in Shape (5th Post) – P90X

It’s been a while since my last post on P90X. I must confess, I did not finish. I made it 2 months and then used the excuse of “last minute travel” to quite. I thought if I took 5 days off, that the plan would have been null and void. In retrospect, I was wrong. I stopped because the program was way to demanding. 6 days a week is a ridiculous amount of time to commit for 3 months. I was 42 and really didn’t want to get into ripped shape anyway so I stopped. I tried to so my own kind of maintenance, but faltered in the end. Don’t get me wrong, I got in the best shape of my life so I know the program works.

So here I am again. I’m now 43 and I just finished day 4 of my latest run at P90X. Here’s what is going to be different…

1) I’m not going to be a victim of the program. If I need to take a day off, I will. That can be for any reason (plans to go out, too tired, not feeling well or other).

2) I’m going to listen to my body. If my quads are killing me from plyo, I’m not going to do anything involving legs including Yoga or Ab Ripper. I spent the entire last program (all 2 months) with my legs sore.

3) I’m going to substitute DVDs on days where I feel it’s necessary. Again, doing a disk just because the program says to but my body doesn’t is not going to be beneficial in the long run. Again, if I were trying to get ripped, that would be a different story, but I’m just trying to get stronger, more flexible and healthier.

4) I’m not just going to do this for 90 days.

Here was how things started this latest round:

Day 1 – Chest and Back -I didn’t make it past the half-way point this time. I did the first time through last year, but not this time. I think it had to do with my not having eaten enough food recently. At least, that’s what I’m telling myself. It could easily be a case of being a year older.

Day 2 – Plyometrics – I was dreading this DVD. I always have. Made it 1/3 of the way through it before I bonked. Again, food is the culprit (or is it?).

Day 3 – Shoulders and Arms – Finally, I make it through. I attempted Ab Ripper but my legs gave out right away.

Day 4 (today) – Yoga X – Not exactly….I substituted Stretch X instead. Yoga would have been killer on my legs so I opted for more stretching to give my legs a chance to recover.

I’m going to skip tomorrow this week as my next day will be Legs and Back and I need a day of rest to get my legs back to normal.

See you on Saturday…..

Leave a Reply

